Dare to Wear

Standard

Many, many, many, MANY weeks ago I went to the Textile Museum of Canada.
I’d originally heard of this place through my museum studies classes, and to be honest
tapestries, costumes, etc. did not really interest me.

That being said, it’s kind of  surprising how I’ve taken to yarn bombing.
I’m just so darn complicated!

The reason I took a lovely little walk through some supposed television shoot at the corner
of College and University (sorry guys!) was to scope out a possible location for a fake exhibition
I had been working on for class. I thought,
“What better place to  have a yarn exhibit than an TEXTILE museum!”

 And because I am a bad museum studies student, I took some photos of my trip
(without the flash of course) so you can get a little taste of the stuff they show.

These are from their Dare to Wear show on the 3rd floor. It’s all about celebrated work of top Canadian
fashion designers created to raise awareness and funds for the AIDS/HIV pandemic in sub‐Saharan Africa.

  

Now because I am also a bad blogger, this exhibition has already come down BUT!!!!
I was speaking to someone who is working with someone  who said that the museum
might have a yarn bombing section for an upcoming exhibit.

Intriguing…

In an early post I mentioned that the Textile Museum has been yarn bombed before, but
has never had a yarn bomb exhibition. So I’m going to keep and eye out for any
more news about this potential show.

Comments are closed.